Facebook Twitter Google Plus Vimeo Youtube Feed Feedburner

Leisure Home LBoard

New Dylan album out in Sept

July 18, 2012

'Tempest' will be his 35th studio set.

NEW YORK: A new Bob Dylan studio album, “Tempest”, will be released on Sept 11th to mark the 50th anniversary of the folk singer-songwriter’s debut album, Columbia Records said yesterday.

The album will feature 10 new and original songs and is the 35th studio set from Dylan, whose last album in 2009, “Together Through Life”, sold more than a million copies and debuted at No. 1 in both Britain and the United States.

The album comes during a period of critical acclaim and creativity for Dylan that has included four popular album releases, including “Time Out Of Mind” in 1997 that won a Grammy for Album of the Year and “Modern Times”, released in 2006, earning Dylan two more Grammys.

The Minnesota-born Dylan, 71, this year received the Presidential Medal of Freedom and was awarded a special Pulitzer Prize in 2008 for his profound impact on popular music and American culture.

Columbia’s announcement yesterday followed months of rumours.

According to the legendary musician’s website, Tempest spans 10 tracks and was produced by Jack Frost, which is the name Dylan uses as a producer.

Though not confirmed in the press release, Dylan fan site Isis Magazine reports that the album was recorded with members of Dylan’s touring band and Los Lobos’ David Hidalgo, who “had been brought in primarily to play accordion and guitar… but ended up adding Mexican instruments.” Of the tracks included, one reportedly spans 14 minutes and is about the Titanic, while another clocks in at nine minutes.

According to Rolling Stone, the album’s title track is the aforementioned 14-minute epic about the Titanic. Another track, “Roll On John”, is a tribute to John Lennon.

Check out the album’s confirmed tracklist below.

01. Duquesne Whistle
02. Soon After Midnight
03. Narrow Way
04. Long and Wasted Years
05. Pay In Blood
06. Scarlet Town
07. Early Roman Kings
08. Tin Angel
09. Tempest
10. Roll On John



Readers are required to have a valid Facebook account to comment on this story. We welcome your opinions to allow a healthy debate. We want our readers to be responsible while commenting and to consider how their views could be received by others. Please be polite and do not use swear words or crude or sexual language or defamatory words. FMT also holds the right to remove comments that violate the letter or spirit of the general commenting rules.

The views expressed in the contents are those of our users and do not necessarily reflect the views of FMT.