Facebook Twitter Google Plus Vimeo Youtube Feed Feedburner

ROS LBoard 1

‘Several Sabah leaders to join PAS’

 | August 15, 2012

PAS and Beaufort MP Lajim Ukin are expected to announce the defection of more Sabah leaders after Hari Raya.

KOTA KINABALU: PAS is preparing itself to receive several Sabah leaders into its fold after the Hari Raya celebrations.

Announcing the party’s preparation for a 5,000-strong gathering here on Sept 1, Sabah PAS Youth chief Lahirul Latigu said spiritual adviser and Kelantan Menteri Besar Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat will be receiving these leaders during the event.

“Tok Guru (Nik Aziz) will be announcing the names of several Sabah leaders who will be joining PAS. He will announce the names at a special gathering on Sept 1.

“The special gathering is called Himpunan Hijau ke Putrajaya and will be attended by national PAS leaders, including president Abdul Hadi Awang, deputy president Mohamad Sabu, vice-presidents and committee members, ” said Lahirul.

Also expected to be present are PAS Youth chief Nasruddin Hassan Tantawi, deputy chief Nik Abdul Aziz and vice-Youth chief Dr Raja Ahmad Al-Hiss.

This will be the first time that Sabah PAS will hold an event of such magnitude.

According to Lahirul, the event will also celebrate the spirit of independence and “commemorate and appreciate Sabah’s 49 years of independence”.

Sabah has become the focal point of Pakatan Rakyat’s mission to reach Putrajaya.

Pakatan leader Anwar Ibrahim has been wooing MPs in the state, encouraging them to defect and stand as independents or under the Pakatan banner.

According to Anwar, what is important is that they support Pakatan’s agenda.

More to defect

Two BN parliamentarians have already jumped ship – Lajim Ukin (Beaufort) and Wilfred Bumburing (Tuaran). On Sunday, Upko vice-president Senator Maijol Mahap also declared his support for Anwar.

Yesterday, Lajim claimed that three more lawmakers from BN will defect after Hari Raya.

“This is not speculation or rumour but something which is true. However, we will not reveal their names.

“They will announce their resignation from the party and support Pakatan in stages from after Hari Raya until the dissolution of Parliament,” he told the PKR’s Keadilan Daily.

He also claimed that 18 out of 35 committee members of the Beaufort Umno division have resigned and joined his Pakatan Perubahan Sabah (PPS), which is a Pakatan’s ally.

“A few more Sabah Umno branch chiefs, former lawmakers and leaders who had been appointed as ministers will also leave the party.

“The announcement will be made at the right time,” he added.


Readers are required to have a valid Facebook account to comment on this story. We welcome your opinions to allow a healthy debate. We want our readers to be responsible while commenting and to consider how their views could be received by others. Please be polite and do not use swear words or crude or sexual language or defamatory words. FMT also holds the right to remove comments that violate the letter or spirit of the general commenting rules.

The views expressed in the contents are those of our users and do not necessarily reflect the views of FMT.