Facebook Twitter Google Plus Vimeo Youtube Feed Feedburner

ROS LBoard 1

DAP branches nominate 5 for Kota Alam Shah state seat

 | September 17, 2012

The eight branches want the state leadership to pick one of the five, which includes incumbent state rep Manoharan, to contest for the seat in the coming GE.

KLANG: Eight DAP branches here last night have shortlisted five nominees for the state party leadership to choose as candidate for Kota Alam Shah state seat in the next general election.

The five nominees are incumbent assemblyman M Manoharan, Taman Gembira branch chairman Ivan Ho Fook Keong (photo), Bayu Tinggi branch chairman Dr Loo Cheng Wee, Klang branch head Sow Kim Ling and Southern Klang branch chief R Selvaraju.

The eight branches also decided that the Selangor DAP leadership, helmed by Teresa Kok, must only pick the constituency candidate from their list of five names.

The branches also decided that the chosen candidate must have a pre-election arrangement to work closely with the DAP branch leaders and members for the betterment of Kota Alam Shah’s constituents.

The eight branches based in Kota Alam Shah were Taman Gembira, Bayu Tinggi, Klang, Southern Klang, Ehsan, Teluk Pulai, Taman Chi Liung Indah and Persiaran Raja Muda Musa.

Four remaining branches in Kota Alam Shah – Simpang Lima, Teluk Gadung, Kota Alam Shah and Bayu Perdana, were not represented at the meeting chaired by Ivan Ho, despite being invited.

The four branches are said to be linked with Pandamaran assemblyman and state executive councillor Ronnie Liu Tian Khiew.

Incumbent Manoharan, a lawyer by profession, is a committee member of Ehsan branch headed by his wife S Pushpaneela.

The former detainee of now repealed Internal Security Act won Kota Alam Shah in 2008 general election while still in Kamunting Detention Centre with a thumping 7,514 majority votes.

Ethnic Chinese constitute 55 per cent of the constituency’s estimated 30,000 votes followed by ethnic Indians at 35 per cent and the rest were Malays and others.

It’s among the most winnable seats for DAP and Pakatan Rakyat in Selangor.

No to parachute candidate

Ivan Ho said the eight branches decided unanimously to propose five names for Kota Alam Shah’s election candidature to give the state leadership adequate grassroots choice of winnable candidates.

He said the candidature proposal would be submitted within a week for the Selangor DAP committee perusal.

“Although it’s the state committee discretion to choose, we want the candidate to be among the five nominees, no one else,” he told FMT.

The eight-branches also rejected any attempt by the state leadership to field a parachute candidate from outside Klang in Kota Alam Shah.

It’s double blow for political aspirations of former ISA detainee V Ganapathirao, who is said to be eyeing the seat.

Early this month, the eight branches had outrightly rejected any attempt to field Ganapathirao as candidate, warning the party that it would lose the seat if he was fielded.

Lawyer Ivan Ho, a former Klang municipal councillor, said the five nominees were shortlisted based on their service record in the area besides their familiarity with local party members, residents and issues.

“Our proposal makes it clear that we reject parachutists. We only want locals as candidate,” he stressed.


Readers are required to have a valid Facebook account to comment on this story. We welcome your opinions to allow a healthy debate. We want our readers to be responsible while commenting and to consider how their views could be received by others. Please be polite and do not use swear words or crude or sexual language or defamatory words. FMT also holds the right to remove comments that violate the letter or spirit of the general commenting rules.

The views expressed in the contents are those of our users and do not necessarily reflect the views of FMT.