Facebook Twitter Google Plus Vimeo Youtube Feed Feedburner

ROS LBoard 1

Kayveas: We want seats lost by BN parties

 | October 29, 2012

The PPP chief also warns Gerakan and MIC of a backlash if they attempt to sabotage his party's chances as he claims they did in 2008.

TAIPING: The People’s Progressive Party (PPP) wants to field its winnable candidates in areas that other BN component parties lost in the 2008 general election.

Party chief M Kayveas said: “We want to contest in BN areas that were lost to the opposition in the last general election as our chances of winning these seats are bright.”

Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak’s said he wants winnable candidates liked by voters and has warned component parties that there was no guarantee they will get the traditional seats.

PPP has been assured of a two parliamentary and two state seats but it has proposed another two parliamentary seats and four other state seats for Najib’s consideration.

Kayveas said this to FMT after a recent visit to his Taiping PPP office but declined to name the seats as he fears possible sabotage by other BN component parties.

He claimed that Gerakan and MIC had stabbed him in the back when he stood in the Taiping parliamentary seat in the 2008, causing him to lose the seat to DAP’s Nga Kor Ming.

Kayveas warned them of a backlash if they again tried to sabotage PPP’s chances in the polls as PPP has a membership of 600,000 in the 3,000 its branches nationwide.

PPP was badly mauled when it lost both the parliamentary and state seats allocated to it in the last general election.

To strengthen its chances in the polls, PPP has launched the ‘Mission 510’ voters which requires each branch recruiting 510 people as assured voters for BN.

More seats sought

Meanwhile, party insiders say that PPP wants the parliamentary seats of Gerik in Perak, Batu or Bandar Tun Razak, both in the Federal Territories.

The party is also eyeing the Pasir Bedamar state seat in Perak and Kota Laksamana in Malacca. PPP has appealed to Najib for more seats in Pahang, Penang, Selangor and Negeri Sembilan.

During the last general election, Umno’s Gerik parliamentary seat was loaned to Gerakan when their traditional Taiping seat was given to PPP.

The Gerik seat was then won by Gerakan Wanita chief Tan Lian Hoe and now PPP is eyeing this safe seat after Gerakan took back Taiping for Tan to contest in the polls again.

In 2008, the Batu seat was contested by Gerakan Youth Chief Lim Si Pin but he lost to PKR’s Tian Chua who won by a 9,455 majority votes.

In the last polls, MCA’s Tan Chai Ho lost the Bandar Tun Razak seat to PKR’s Abdul Khalid Ibrahim by a 2,515 margin.

PPP national information chief A Chandrakumanan is expected to contest either the Batu or Bandar Tun Razak seats in the polls.

The former PPP Pasir Bedamar state seat was given to MCA’s Lee Heng who lost to DAP’s Seah Leong Peng by a margin of 7,914 votes in the 2008 .

Also, in 2008, MCA’s Lee Kiat Lee lost the Kota Laksamana seat to DAP’s Betty Chew by a 7,242 margin.


Readers are required to have a valid Facebook account to comment on this story. We welcome your opinions to allow a healthy debate. We want our readers to be responsible while commenting and to consider how their views could be received by others. Please be polite and do not use swear words or crude or sexual language or defamatory words. FMT also holds the right to remove comments that violate the letter or spirit of the general commenting rules.

The views expressed in the contents are those of our users and do not necessarily reflect the views of FMT.