Facebook Twitter Google Plus Vimeo Youtube Feed Feedburner

ROS LBoard 1

PPP eyes 4 state and 2 parliament seats

 | April 14, 2013

Among the names mentioned as a potential PPP candidate is PPP vice chief Maglin Dennis D’Cruz, presently a senator and a deputy minister in Najib's last cabinet.

TAIPING: The People’s Progressive Party (PPP) is likely to contest in two parliamentary and four state seats that were lost by Barisan Nasional component parties in the 2008 political tsunami.

According to a BN source, the party has earmarked the four state seats of Pasir Bedamar in Perak, Manek Urai (Kelantan), Kota Laksamana (Malacca) and Kota Alam Shah (Selangor), and also the Federal Territory parliamentary seat of Batu.

PPP is also said to be eyeing either the parliamentary seats of Kepong or Kapar, or another parliamentary seat in Perak.

The source said PPP was awaiting Barisan Nasional chairman Najib Tun Razak’s approval before making any official move.

“They have said that Najib will tell them some time this week. They are confident of doing well in these seats,” said the source.

In 2008, Gerakan failed to unseat DAP’s Dr Tan Seng Giaw in Keong while MIC’s Kapar seat was lost to PKR S Manikavasagam.

PPP meanwhile lost both the Taiping parliamentary seat and the Pasir Bedamar state seat that it had contested in 2008.

Last year PPP president M Kayveas told FMT that the party wanted to contest in BN areas that were lost to the opposition in the last general election.

While the party had claimed that it had been assured of two parliamentary seats and two state seats, it had however proposed to Najib for the additional two state seats.

Umno‘s Manek Urai seat which was lost to PAS in 2008 is now expected to be contested by PPP Kelantan Wanita chief Dr Sariani Yahaya.

Malacca PPP chief Chew Tiang Chai is set to contest the Kota Laksamana which MCA had lost to Betty Chew of DAP in the last polls.

Gerakan which had lost the Kota Alam Shah to M Manoharan of DAP in 2008 is now expected to be contested by PPP vice chief Maglin Dennis D’Cruz, presently a senator and a deputy minister in Najib’s last cabinet.

Perak PPP treasurer Kerk Guan Chuan may be the newcomer for the party’s Pasir Bedamar seat.

PPP national information chief A Chandrakumaran is expected to contest the Batu seat against PKR’s incumbent Tian Chua. Tian Chua had defeated Gerakan Youth chief Lim Si Pin in 2008.


Readers are required to have a valid Facebook account to comment on this story. We welcome your opinions to allow a healthy debate. We want our readers to be responsible while commenting and to consider how their views could be received by others. Please be polite and do not use swear words or crude or sexual language or defamatory words. FMT also holds the right to remove comments that violate the letter or spirit of the general commenting rules.

The views expressed in the contents are those of our users and do not necessarily reflect the views of FMT.