Facebook Twitter Google Plus Vimeo Youtube Feed Feedburner

ROS LBoard 1

Not all G5 members welcome, says SPDP

 | August 6, 2013

SPDP president William Mawan has learnt a bitter lesson from the 2011 state elections when he accepted the G5 members back, only to be betrayed after the election.

KUCHING: Chief Minister Taib Mahmud’s ‘guarantee’ to the now partyless ‘Gang of Five (G5)’ that they will be accepted within the state Barisan Nasional fold has added pressure to Sarawak Progressive Democrative Party (SPDP).

In a somewhat dismissive action, SPDP secretary Nelson Balang Rinting yesterday reiterated that the party will not accept wholesale the G5 members who were sacked for insubordination in 2011 and 2012.

“We will not take all,” he said when asked to comment on Taib’s statement. Taib is the chairman of the state Barisan Nasional coalition comprising SPDP, Parti Rakyat Sarawak and Sarawak United Peoples Party.

Taib had reportedly said that the G5 members should not be in a hurry to join any other BN parties.

“I think they should not be in a hurry to do so. My guarantee to them is we don’t kick people out, if they are intensely very loyal to BN and we will find some accommodation for them somehow,” Taib was quoted as saying.

However, Balang was adamant and refused to elaborate which of the five expelled members who are popularly known as group of five or G5 that SPDP would be accepted back into their fold.

The group comprises Peter Nansian, (assistant minister of community services and Tasik Biru assemblyman), Sylvester Entri, (assistant minister of minister of public utilities and Marudi rep), Rosey Yunus, (assistant minster of early childhood education and family development and Bekenu assemblywoman) and Paulus Palu Gumbang, (chairman of Miri Port authority and Batu Danau assemblyman) and the former MP for Mas Gading Tiki Lafe.

They were all sacked from the party in November 2011 and January 2012 for gross insubordination.

“Sorry I cannot tell you who we will admit. Let the president tell you,” Balang told FMT.

SPDP ‘not desperate’

But party sources indicated that the likely names were Rosey and Paulus.

“We will not welcome Entri, Nansian and Tiki,” said the source.

Rosey and Paulus were not vocal against the party leadership unlike Entri and Nansian. The party would not accept Tiki because he contested against SPDP-BN candidate Anthony Nogih in the last general election.

Last month the SPDP president William Mawan had made it clear that there were two doors – one door would be open to some and the other would be close to the others.

“SPDP has two doors, and one closes, the other will open, but there will be a time when both doors will be closed. But not all will eb excepted back,” said Mawan, who is Social Development Minister when explaining that his reconciliation effort with the G5 members was sincere.

His remark prompted Nansian, the G5 spokesman to say that if SPDP touched anyone of them, it meant that they touched all of them.

To which Mawan said: “Don’t feel that the olive branch is offered in desperation; it is a reflection of our political reality.

“Even those people who had been sacked can always apply to come back. But if you say that ‘touch one and touch all’, then I have to counter it.

“If you expect 100%, sorry no, otherwise we will be back to square one,” he said.

Twice betrayed

Mawan has learnt a bitter lesson from the 2011 state elections when he accepted the G5 members back but only to be betrayed by them after the election.

The group patched up with the party and apologized for their ‘faults’ just before the state election.

Had they not done it they would not have been renominated to defend their respective seats.

Two months after winning their respective seats, they started attacking Mawan accusing him of not only failing as a leader, but also of being indecisive.

They also blamed him for the defeats of the SPDP candidates in Krian and Ba’Kelalan both of which are the strongholds of the party.

SPDP expelled Entri in November 2011 and the rest in January 2012 when the spat between the group and SPDP became intolerable.

Mawan who might not contest the state seat of Pakan in the next state election said SPDP had identified eight new faces. The other seats are Tasik Biru, Krian, Meluan, Marudi, Batu Danau, Ba’Kelalan and Bekenu.


Readers are required to have a valid Facebook account to comment on this story. We welcome your opinions to allow a healthy debate. We want our readers to be responsible while commenting and to consider how their views could be received by others. Please be polite and do not use swear words or crude or sexual language or defamatory words. FMT also holds the right to remove comments that violate the letter or spirit of the general commenting rules.

The views expressed in the contents are those of our users and do not necessarily reflect the views of FMT.