Facebook Twitter Google Plus Vimeo Youtube Feed Feedburner

ROS LBoard 1

DAP polls: Ngeh-Nga out of favour?

 | September 29, 2013

A 'menu' that urges DAP delegates to vote against Ngeh-Ngah cousins has appeared, while 17 candidates have pulled out of the race at the last minute.

PETALING JAYA: DAP’s central executive committee (CEC) re-election today started with the circulation of a ‘candidates list’ that urged the delegates to vote against Ngeh-Ngah cousins, and withdrawal of 17 candidates from the race.

Although Perak DAP leaders Ngeh Koo Ham and Nga Kor Ming formed an influential power bloc in the state, their names were however excluded from the favourable candidates list by the so-called mainstream fraction in the party.

The 20-men name list, or “menu” in local political term, contained the names of most of the candidates elected in the December elections but left out Ngeh, Ngah and Johor DAP chief Boo Cheng Hau.

Detractors have criticised Ngeh and Nga for running their own show in Perak, and said the duo’s insistence in fielding their own men in the 13th general election as among the reasons for Pakatan to fail in recapturing Perak.

In last December’s CEC election, Ngeh clinched the 19th slot with 824 votes while Nga came at number 12 with 1,075 votes. The results have been declared null and void by the Registrar of Societies, resulting in the party holding a re-election today.

DAP has 2,076 eligible delegates, of which 1,720 can cast the votes today, ad hoc returning officer Ong Kian Ming said.

Meanwhile, 17 of the 68 candidates withdrew from contesting, adhering the call of the central leadership to maintain the same 20 candidates who were elected in December.

They were DAP’s Teras assemblyman Choong Siew Onn, Bakri MP Er Teck Hwa, Kota Alam Shah assemblyman V. Ganabatirau, Datuk Keramat assemblyman Jagdeep Singh Deo, Perak DAP committee member V. Jaya Balan and Sabai assemblyman Kamache Doray Rajoo.

Also quitting the race were former Teluk Intan MP M Manogaran, Negeri Sembilan organising secretary Ng Chin Tsai, Komtar assemblyman Ng Wei Aik, Seri Delima assemblyman RSN Rayer, Negeri Sembilan committee member Siew Kim Leong, Soh Boon Hong, Tan Lee Koon, Teo Kok Seong, Sarawak state treasurer Violet Yong and member Roseli Abdul Ghani.

This is on the top of another two who had resigned the party- Luyang assemblyman Hiew King Cheu and former Seremban MP John Fernandez.

Voting started at 11.30am and the results are expected to be announced later this evening.


Readers are required to have a valid Facebook account to comment on this story. We welcome your opinions to allow a healthy debate. We want our readers to be responsible while commenting and to consider how their views could be received by others. Please be polite and do not use swear words or crude or sexual language or defamatory words. FMT also holds the right to remove comments that violate the letter or spirit of the general commenting rules.

The views expressed in the contents are those of our users and do not necessarily reflect the views of FMT.