Facebook Twitter Google Plus Vimeo Youtube Feed Feedburner

ROS LBoard 1

PH ready to hunt Umno-BN’s ‘pirate ship’, says PKR

 | July 17, 2017

PKR communications director Fahmi Fadzil mocks Deputy Prime Minister Ahmad Zahid Hamidi's 'sinking ship' comment, says PH will return 'stolen treasures' to people.

Fahmi-Fadzil-zahid-hamidi-pakatan-harapan-1PETALING JAYA: PKR communications director Fahmi Fadzil says Pakatan Harapan is only interested in going after the ruling coalition’s “treasure-filled pirate ship” if it takes over Putrajaya.

He was responding to Deputy Prime Minister Ahmad Zahid Hamidi’s “sinking ship with three captains” comment on Pakatan Harapan’s new leadership council, Asian Correspondent reported.

“When the pirate ship of Umno-BN is defeated, we will surely be able to trace the ‘treasure map’ of the pirate ship’s skipper to return to the people the riches that were robbed and stolen by its cohorts,” Fahmi was quoted as saying.

He added that the current administration of Prime Minister Najib Razak is in panic mode, as the opposition coalition is now “more than ready” to begin its hunt for the ruling government’s “piracy vessel”.

On Saturday, Zahid said PH’s decision to name three individuals as their top leaders is akin to a ship doomed to sink as it had three captains with different maps.

He had said by now people must be wondering who would be holding the executive power in PH and how the coalition could possibly function when each of its top leaders had an own path to follow.

“Logically, a ship which has three captains will be in trouble because one captain would want to sail to the right, while the other to the left. The ship is doomed to sink,” he was quoted as saying by Bernama.

On Thursday night, PH, which comprises PKR, DAP, Amanah and PPBM, announced its new leadership structure with PKR’s Anwar Ibrahim as its de facto leader, PPBM’s Dr Mahathir Mohamad as the chairman and PKR’s Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail as the president. All carry the same titles in the respective parties.

PPBM president Muhyiddin Yassin, Amanah president Mohamad Sabu and DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng were named joint-deputy presidents.

PKR deputy president Azmin Ali and his PPBM counterpart Mukhriz Mahathir were named as vice-presidents, along with DAP’s Chong Chieng Jen and Amanah’s Salahuddin Ayub, while former deputy minister Saifuddin Abdullah is the chief secretary.

Zahid: RoS expected to ask Pakatan about its leadership

Pakatan chooses logo, Mahathir and Anwar for top posts


Readers are required to have a valid Facebook account to comment on this story. We welcome your opinions to allow a healthy debate. We want our readers to be responsible while commenting and to consider how their views could be received by others. Please be polite and do not use swear words or crude or sexual language or defamatory words. FMT also holds the right to remove comments that violate the letter or spirit of the general commenting rules.

The views expressed in the contents are those of our users and do not necessarily reflect the views of FMT.