Facebook Twitter Google Plus Vimeo Youtube Feed Feedburner

ROS LBoard 1

Ministry’s budget allocation passed by just one vote in Dewan

 | November 20, 2017

Opposition MPs furious BN MPs allowed to vote even after two-minute warning but deputy speaker says there is no rule that votes of MPs who enter late cannot be counted.


parlimenKUALA LUMPUR: The Dewan Rakyat today passed the 2018 Budget’s allocation for the domestic trade, co-operatives and consumerism ministry amid chaos as MPs rushed into the house from the lobby to vote.

The provision under the Supply Bill 2018 was approved with the narrowest of margins, with 52 voting for it, 51 against it and two other MPs present in the house abstaining.

Deputy speaker Ronald Kiandee came under fire from opposition MPs who alleged there was deceitfulness in the voting process.

It began when G Manivannan (PKR-Kapar) called for a bloc vote after minister Hamzah Zainudin wrapped-up his speech on behalf of the ministry.

Many BN MPs were not present when the bell to announce the bloc vote was rung.

Although it had finished sounding for a full two minutes, some BN MPs were still seen rushing in to vote.

Tony Pua (DAP-Petaling Jaya Utara), Mohamad Imran Abdul Hamid (PKR-Lumut) and Su Keong Siong (DAP-Ipoh Timur) were then heard shouting “tipu” (cheating) at Ronald.

Fauzi Abdul Rahman (PKR-Indera Mahkora) called for the Dewan Rakyat door to be shut to bar more latecomers from entering.

parlimen1Gobind Singh Deo (DAP-Puchong) later said the incident clearly showed that BN legislators were allowed in to vote although they were late and the bell had been rung.

“We all could see what happened. While we were voting, after the time limit (to be present) had expired, there were still BN MPs entering the Dewan Rakyat and voting,” he said.

“We want the list of names to be reviewed. Why did this happen? The whole world has seen what happened here,” he said.

“They just won with only a single vote,” he added.

Among the MPs alleged by the opposition to have entered late and allowed to vote were Raime Unggi (BN-Tenom), Koh Nai Kwong (BN-Alor Gajah), Azalina Othman Said (BN-Pengerang) and Ismail Sabri Yaakob (BN-Bera).

A visibly enraged Khalid Samad (Amanah-Shah Alam) told BN to stop “cheating” and urged for voting to be conducted with honesty.

Mahfuz Omar (PAS-Pokok Sena) alleged that there was a conspiracy taking place when the bloc vote was in process.

However, Ronald said there was no rule that the votes of MPs who had entered late could not be counted.

“I have studied this. There was no infringement,” he said.

The ensuing chaos that lasted for almost 15 minutes ended with most opposition MPs walking out of the hall.

No quorum, sitting almost called off


Readers are required to have a valid Facebook account to comment on this story. We welcome your opinions to allow a healthy debate. We want our readers to be responsible while commenting and to consider how their views could be received by others. Please be polite and do not use swear words or crude or sexual language or defamatory words. FMT also holds the right to remove comments that violate the letter or spirit of the general commenting rules.

The views expressed in the contents are those of our users and do not necessarily reflect the views of FMT.