SPDP opens doors to direct BN candidates


PETALING JAYA: Sarawak BN component party SPDP is willing to take in all 11 direct BN candidates who won in Saturday’s state election, Borneo Post Online reported.

According to the report, SPDP President Tiong King Sing said the party was always open to those who had left SPDP and other assemblymen without a party.

This, he said, included former Teras President William Mawan Ikom and former UPP President Wong Soon Koh, who retained their Pakan and Bawang Assan seats respectively. William Mawan was also at one time SPDP president.

Tiong said he had high regards for Wong, who was his former teacher and principal at the Chung Hua Secondary School in Sibu.
“We can provide a platform for them to join BN.

“After that, we can propose to the chief minister what posts would be suitable for them, but we will leave the decision to the CM as Cabinet appointments are his prerogative,” he was quoted as saying.

Tiong said having direct BN candidates join SPDP would also pave the way for greater unity within BN and enhance the state’s political stability.

Both Mawan and Wong had to resign from their respective parties to stand as direct BN candidates in the election.

Mawan, who was formerly SPDP president, quit the party in 2014, after an internal crisis, alongside four other assemblymen.

The 11 direct BN candidates were Mawan, Wong, Rosey Yunus (Bekenu), Paulus Palu Gumbang (Batu Danau), Miro Simuh (Serembu), John Ilus (Bukit Semuja), Gerawat Gala (Mulu), Dr Jerip Susil (Mambong), Tiong Thai King (Dudong), Johnical Rayong (Engkilili) and Ranum Mina (Opar).