Thangasvari first woman appointed Perak Speaker

S. Thangeswary

IPOH: Former Perak MIC Wanita chief S Thangasvari was today chosen as the new Perak State Legislative Assembly Speaker, replacing SK Devamany, who stepped down from the post.

Thangasvari, the first woman to hold the post in Perak, was selected to be Speaker after she garnered 30 votes compared to the 24 obtained by the Opposition candidate, Batu Gajah MP V. Sivakumar, while four assemblymen abstained from voting.

Earlier, Thangasvari’s nomination was made by Saarani Mohamad (BN-Kota Tampan) and seconded by Mah Hang Soon (BN-Chenderiang) before the start of the Second Meeting, Fourth Session of the 13th Perak State Legislative Assembly here.

Sivakumar, on the other hand, was nominated for the post by Mohamad Nizar Jamaluddin (Amanah-Changkat Jering) and seconded by Chang Lih Kang (PKR-Teja).

The election was held back for almost 30 minutes after the DAP and Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) disputed the submission of the state government candidate’s name, claiming it came in late.

Perak State Legislative Assembly secretary Shahrul Azam Shaari explained that it received the nomination form from the Opposition on July 26 at 2.30pm, while BN submitted theirs at 3pm on Aug 1, the last day for submission.

“For your information, there is no provision in the government’s standing order nor the state assembly’s to announce any candidacy,” he said.

The post of Perak Speaker became vacant after Devamany stepped down upon his appointment as Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department in the Cabinet reshuffle on June 27.