20 new members picked for 2 MACC panels


KUALA LUMPUR: Twenty members of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) panel have received their letters of appointment said the commission.

According to a statement from the MACC, 13 were appointed to the Consultation and Prevention of Corruption Panel (PPPR) and seven to the Operations Evaluation Panel (PPO).

“Members of the panels for both PPPR and PPO comprise leaders of professional bodies, senior government officials, non-governmental organisations, professionals and academicians,” said the statement.

According to the statement, their appointment would be effective for a year, effective today and will end on Aug 14, 2017.

The PPPR panel comprises former Public Works Department director-general Ismail Adam (chairman); former Jabatan Kemajuan Islam Malaysia (Jakim) Director-General Wan Mohamad Sheikh Abdul Aziz; former Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia Vice-Chancellor Professor Emeritus Mohd Sham Mohd Sani; Adjunct Professor at Asia e University Professor T Marimuthu; The Store Corporation Berhad Managing Director Tang Yeam Soon and former Science, Technology and Environment Ministry Chief Secretary V Danapalan.

Also on the PPPR panel are former Naim Land Sdn Bhd founder Hasmi Hasnan; Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia’s Faculty of Leadership and Management’s Amla Mohd Salleh; Baljit Singh Sidhu from Shukor Baljit and Partners; Kumpulan Utusan Melayu (Malaysia) Bhd Managing Director Abdul Aziz Ishak, Skop Productions Sdn Bhd Managing Director Yusof Md Haslam Khan; Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Cyberjaya University College of Medical Sciences, Malaysia Professor Mohamed Hatta Shaharom and Global Movement of Moderates Foundation (GMMF) Chief Executive Officer Nasharudin Mat Isa.

The PPO members comprise former Federal Court of Malaysia judge Zaleha Zahari (chairman); former Inspector-General of Police Ismail Omar; Malaysian Rating Corporation Berhad Chairman Azizan Abdul Rahman; former Inland Revenue Board Deputy Chief Executive Officer Siti Mariam Che Ayub; Selva Mookiah from Selva Mookiah and Associates; Assoc Prof Mohammad Agus Yusoff from the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, University Kebangsaan Malaysia; and Assoc Prof Yap Bee Wah from the Faculty of Computer Science and Mathematics, Universiti Teknologi Mara.

MACC, which was incepted in 2009, also has five independent oversight panels — Special Committee on Corruption; Anti-Corruption Advisory Board; Complaints Committee; Operations Review Panel; and Consultation and Corruption Prevention Panel.