Two state constituencies in Pahang to have new names, boundaries


KUANTAN: Two state constituencies in Pahang are set to have new names and boundaries as recommended by the Election Commission (EC) following its redelineation exercise.

In the notice containing the recommendations displayed at the Pahang EC office in Wisma Persekutuan here, the Kuala Sentul state constituency in the Maran parliamentary constituency also seemed set to ‘disappear’.

Two of its eight voting district centres (PDM), namely Jengka 1 and Sungai Jerik, are proposed to be put under the Jengka state constituency, while the other six centres, namely Felda Ulu Jempol, Jengka 2, Jengka 3, Jengka 4, Jengka 5 and Kampung Kuala Sentul, would be placed under the Luit state constituency.

The Kuala Sentul constituency will be replaced and known as the Jengka state constituency, which was formerly under the Kuala Krau parliamentary constituency.

For the record, the Kuala Sentul seat is being held by Shahaniza Shamsuddin of Barisan Nasional (BN) who defeated a PKR candidate with a 3,293-vote majority at the 13th general election.

Meanwhile, part of the Kuala Semantan state constituency, which is now under the Temerloh parliamentary constituency, is proposed to become the Paya Pulai state constituency with 11,229 registered voters.

A Pahang EC spokesman also said there would be no changes in the number of parliamentary and state seats in the state, while the number of registered voters stood at 740,023.