9 teacher training colleges to be vocational colleges


KUALA LUMPUR: No teacher training college will be closed, the Education Ministry announced yesterday amid confusion of the future of Institutes of Teacher Education arising from the Budget speech last week.

The ministry said in a statement yesterday that nine of the 27 teacher training campuses would be turned into vocational colleges or polytechnics, in line with the needs and expansion of technical vocational education and training.

“The campuses involved have yet to be finalised and talks are ongoing especially on the needs according to location,” said the statement.

In addition, two of the existing colleges, the Raja Melewar campus in Negeri Sembilan and Tuanku Bainun campus in Penang. will become Permata Centres as announced in the Budget speech by Prime Minister Najib Razak.