4 PAS divisions in Terengganu vote to dump PKR


KUALA TERENGGANU: Four PAS divisions in Terengganu have adopted a resolution to sever all political ties with PKR at their annual general meetings held recently.

Terengganu PAS commissioner Satiful Bahri Mamat said the four divisions were Marang, Dungun, Kuala Terengganu and Kuala Nerus.

“It was what the grassroots wanted. It was within their right to move motions to put the PAS leadership on notice when the party holds its muktamar.”

He said the final decision on political cooperation with PKR will be made by PAS’s syura (the party’s highest decision-making body).

He was speaking to reporters on the sidelines of the state assembly sitting here today.

The muktamar, or PAS’ annual general assembly, is scheduled to be held in Kota Sarang Semut, Kedah, on April 28.

Yesterday, 12 of 13 PAS divisions in Penang also adopted to do the same.

PAS has been at loggerheads with PKR due to the latter’s cooperation with its enemy, DAP, formerly its partner in the opposition pact Pakatan Rakyat, together with PKR, and Parti Amanah Negara, a splinter of PAS.