Subra: Cameron Highlands parliamentary seat belongs to MIC

subramaniam-micCAMERON HIGHLANDS: MIC will contest in the Cameron Highlands parliamentary seat in the coming 14th general election (GE14), said party president Dr S. Subramaniam.

He said the Cameron Highlands parliamentary seat traditionally belonged to MIC despite some Barisan Nasional (BN) component parties expressing their intention to contest in the area.

“It is the seat of the MIC although there are issues (among the component parties eyeing the seat), but it will not affect us and we will continue to defend it.

“We will also be looking for new faces to ensure victory is retained by the BN in GE14,” he told reporters after visiting Hospital Sultanah Hajjah Kalsom here yesterday.

Subramaniam, who is also health minister, said, however, the decision on who would contest for the Cameron Highlands parliamentary seat depends on BN chairman Najib Razak.

Before this, myPPP president, M. Kayveas had hinted that he would like to contest the Cameron Highlands parliamentary seat in the coming GE14, as it was his place of origin.

The seat is currently being held by former MIC president G. Palanivel, who won it in the 13th general election.

However, Kayveas said he would leave it to the BN leadership to decide on whether myPPP or another BN component party will be given the opportunity to contest there.

In the 13th general election, Kayveas contested on a BN-PPP ticket for the Pasir Bedamar state seat in Teluk Intan, Perak, but lost to Terence Naidu V. Raja (DAP) by 13,037 votes.