Bandar Tun Razak voters withdraw challenge against EC

syahredzan-bandar-tun-razak-voters-1KUALA LUMPUR: Three Bandar Tun Razak voters today withdrew their suit against the Election Commission (EC) over its refusal to hold a second local inquiry hearing on the on-going redelineation exercise.

Lawyer Syahredzan Johan, who represented the voters.
Lawyer Syahredzan Johan, who represented the voters.

Lawyer Syahredzan Johan, who represented the voters, said the decision to withdraw the suit was based on the electoral body’s decision to hold a second hearing.

The EC had written to Mohammad Saiful Mansur, Khairuddin Asmuin and Norma Hashim to inform them about the matter.

“If we did not pursue legal action, the EC would never hold a hearing. We needed to do something,” Syahredzan told reporters after meeting High Court judge Justice Kamaludin Md Saad in chambers.

He added that this is the third time voters have taken action against EC for refusing to hold an inquiry although there were over a hundred objections.

In the trio’s application to seek leave to initiate a judicial review against the EC, they sought to quash the EC’s refusal to hold a second inquiry for Bandar Tun Razak voters as stipulated under the Federal Constitution.

However, they received a letter from EC dated July 27, in which the electoral body invited the voters to attend the second inquiry on Aug 8 at its Putrajaya headquarters.

Meanwhile, Saiful said as a voter, he wanted his complaints to be heard by the EC, adding that he was confused over the change in location of his poll centre and the number of voters registered at the constituency.

“We were not aware that we were being shifted to another polling centre,” he said.

On December 2016, three voters from Setiawangsa decided to drop their legal challenge against the EC after it had agreed to hold a local inquiry for them.

Early this year, voters from Segambut also withdrew their case against the EC on January after it agreed to conduct a local inquiry proceeding.