KTMB launches new system for Touch ‘n Go users

ktmKUALA LUMPUR: Keretapi Tanah Melayu Berhad (KTMB) customers can now use the Touch ‘n Go card for the new Automated Fare Collection (AFC) system installed at 13 selected commuter stations.

The stations undergoing the first phase of the AFC system upgrade are KL Sentral, Sungai Buloh, Bandar Tasik Selatan, Subang Jaya, Batu Caves, Bank Negara, Putra, Kuala Lumpur, Serdang, Kajang, Nilai, Seremban and Setia Jaya.

Deputy Transport Minister, Ab Aziz Kaprawi said the implementation of the new system would enable commuters to conveniently use public transportation through only one card, while providing a smooth journey and overcoming congestion at Touch n’ Go scanner lanes during peak hours.

“In line with the development of other modes of public transportation such as the Mass Rail Transit (MRT) and Light Rail Transit (LRT), the AFC system at KTM commuter stations has been modernised.

“Previously, there was only one Touch n’ Go lane at every KTM commuter station, but now customers do not have to crowd at a single lane,” he told reporters after launching the new system, here, today.

Ab Aziz said the project was expected to be fully completed in 2019, focussing on an integrated ticketing system for all railway operators in the Klang Valley.