Musa: Women will have a place in Sabah’s development

musa-aman-sabah-womenKOTA KINABALU: The Sabah government does not practise favouritism in its appointments of civil servants to important posts, as the state’s development requires the close cooperation of both men and women, says Sabah Chief Minister Musa Aman.

“I’m not one-sided. I will not hesitate to give important posts (in the government) to someone based on merit.

“As such, the state government has no problem in providing opportunities for women in Sabah because we believe they, too, can contribute to the state’s development,” he said at the state-level Women’s Day celebration here last night.

Musa said the state government always strove to ensure that women in Sabah were competitive, creative and innovative, so that they would not be left behind in the state’s development.

He said women also played an important role in further enhancing the 2050 National Transformation (TN50) programme for a more progressive future generation.

Earlier, State Community Development and Consumer Affairs Minister Jainab Ahmad Ayid said the ministry, through the State Women Affairs Department (Jhewa), held the Sabah Women TN50 programme on Aug 29 to get a clearer picture of the people’s aspirations on empowering women.

She said the programme touched on key issues regarding the future of Sabah’s women and identified proposals to help realise their aspirations towards reaching 2050. A document of the said proposals were later presented to Musa.

Musa also launched the entrepreneurial programme “Creating Millionaires Among Young Women Entrepreneurs (Cream)”.

In conjunction with Women’s Day celebrations, six women were awarded for their contributions in their respective fields.

They were the wife of the current foreign minister, Siti Rubiah Abdul Samad, who received the Woman Icon Award for her involvement in social activities; former state attorney-general Mariati Robert (Distinguished Woman Award); Royal Malaysia Air Force pilot Major Patricia Yapp Syau Yin (Outstanding Woman Award); Marina Harris Embiricos (Woman Entrepreneur Award); Sahrah Asor (Promising Woman Entrepreneur Award); and the Kinabatangan Norqaseh Single Mothers’ Association (Outstanding Women’s Association Award).