3 DAP MPs suspended, booted out of Dewan

KUALA LUMPUR: Three DAP MPs have been suspended from the Dewan Rakyat for 10 days over their refusal to apologise for demanding the resignation of Speaker Pandikar Amin Mulia.

Nga Kor Ming (DAP-Taiping), V Sivakumar (DAP-Batu Gajah) and Ngeh Koo Ham (DAP-Beruas) were also ejected from the Dewan Rakyat.

Deputy Speaker Ronald Kiandee, who handed down the suspension, said the three MPs had insulted the Dewan Rakyat by demanding Pandikar’s resignation.

“Taiping, Beruas and Batu Gajah issued an inappropriate statement and refused to make an open apology in line with the Dewan Rakyat regulations,” he said.

An irate Sivakumar said Kiandee’s decision to suspend the trio was politically motivated.

The three MPs had earlier this month released a joint statement urging Pandikar not to be an accomplice in covering up the 1MDB scandal.

They also called on him to step down after he rejected an emergency motion on the 1MDB-linked luxury yacht Equanimity and questions related to the troubled government investment fund.

Pandikar subsequently demanded that the three issue an open apology in the Dewan Rakyat for accusing him of collusion in covering up corruption scandals.

DAP defends MPs over quit call to Pandikar

Told to apologise, DAP trio to file new motion on 1MDB instead