8 state assemblies dissolved so far

Kelantan joins seven other states in dissolving their state assemblies to pave the way for the general election.

KUALA LUMPUR: Kelantan, Pahang and Kedah today dissolved their state legislative assemblies following the dissolution of Parliament.

Eight state assemblies have thus far been dissolved after Prime Minister Najib Razak had announced yesterday that the dissolution of the 13th Parliament would take effect today.

Sabah, Perlis, Melaka, Johor and Negeri Sembilan saw their legislative bodies dissolved yesterday.

The dissolution of the Kelantan state assembly was announced today by Menteri Besar Ahmad Yakob after it was consented to by Kelantan Regent Tengku Muhammad Faiz Petra following an audience with the latter in the national capital last night.

The Regent of Pahang Tengku Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah had given his consent to dissolve the Pahang state assembly to Menteri Besar Adnan Yaakob in an audience at 12.30pm today at Istana Abu Bakar in Pekan, Pahang.

Kedah Menteri Besar Ahmad Bashah was given the consent by the Sultan of Kedah Sultan Sallehuddin Ibni Almarhum Sultan Badlishah at Istana Darul Aman here to dissolve the Kedah state assembly today.

Meanwhile, Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng will meet the Yang Dipertua Negeri Tun Abdul Rahman Abbas on Monday to get his approval for the dissolution of the Penang state assembly.

For Selangor, a dissolution ceremony will be held at Istana Alam Shah, Klang on Monday at 10.30am, after the consent of Sultan of Selangor Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah is received.

The dissolution of the Perak assembly will be held at a ceremony at Istana Iskandariah, Kuala Kangsar at 10am on Monday. The Sultan of Perak Sultan Nazrin Shah had agreed to make an announcement on the dissolution of the state assembly then.

Meanwhile, Terengganu menteri besar Ahmad Razif Abd Rahman is scheduled for an audience with Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin on Apr 11 at Istana Syarqiyyah in Kuala Terengganu to get his approval for the dissolution of the Terengganu state assembly.

Polling date only after all state assemblies dissolve