PAS announces candidates in 11 states

PAS is fielding a number of new faces, as well as women candidates in several locations. (Facebook pic)

KUALA LUMPUR: PAS and its partners have announced their list of candidates for the coming polls.

The party, alongside partners in Gagasan Sejahtera, will contest in 126 parliamentary and 322 state seats in Perlis, Penang, Kedah, Perak, Selangor, the Federal Territories, Negeri Sembilan, Melaka, Johor, Pahang and Terengganu.

Candidates for three other states – Kelantan, Sabah and Sarawak – will be announced later.

In Kuala Lumpur, PAS will field candidates in nine out of the 13 parliamentary seats in the Federal Territories: Batu, Wangsa Maju, Setiawangsa, Titiwangsa, Bandar Tun Razak, Lembah Pantai, Segambut, Putrajaya and Labuan.

Federal Territories PAS commissioner Mohamad Noor Mohamad, when announcing the list of candidates, said he would contest in the Titiwangsa parliamentary seat, while a woman candidate, Rosni Adam, who is also the deputy chief of PAS’ women’s wing, will contest in Bandar Tun Razak.

In Seremban, PAS announced that it would contest in all parliamentary seats in Negeri Sembilan and 26 out of the 36 state seats including the Temiang state seat, which will be contested by a candidate from PAS Supporters’ Club (DHPP) Yaw Con Seng.

Negeri Sembilan PAS chief Mustaffa Daharun said he would contest in the Jempol parliamentary seat and the Ampangan state seat while state women’s chief Fazilah Abu Samah will contest in the Senaling state seat.

In Kangar, PAS spiritual leader Hashim Jasin announced that the party would contest in all three parliamentary seats and 15 state seats, with its state chief Mohd Shukri Ramli to defend the Sanglang state seat.

In Marang, Terengganu PAS chief Hussin Awang announced that the party would contest in all eight parliamentary seats and 32 state seats.

PAS president Abdul Hadi Awang will defend his Marang parliamentary seat which he first contested in 1986, but not the Rhu Rendang state seat which he has held for eight terms since 1982.

Rhu Rendang will be contested by Hadi’s political secretary, Ahmad Samsuri Mokhtar.

Hadi’s son, Muhammad Khalil, was announced as the candidate for the Batu Buruk state seat.

“PAS is fielding 15 new faces for the state seats and three for the parliamentary seats. About 60% of them have educational background in Islamic studies and almost 22% are professionals,” he said.

In Kuantan, former MIC man S Kumar and DHPP chairman N Balasubramaniam are among the pact’s candidates in Pahang.

Kumar, 45, who is also the New Generation Party president, will be contesting the Tanah Rata state seat under the Cameron Highlands parliamentary constituency, while Balasubramaniam, 60, is the candidate for the Beserah parliamentary seat.

The announcement by Pahang PAS chief Rosli Abdul Jabar will see the alliance contesting in all 42 state seats and 14 parliamentary seats in Pahang.

The alliance will field military veteran Captain Ahiatudin Daud, 63, to challenge Prime Minister Najib Razak in Pekan.

At the event, only the names of 40 candidates were announced while the other two candidates will be announced before nomination day on April 28.

In Shah Alam, two top DHPP leaders, namely Selangor DHPP election director M Rajan and vice-chairman Kong Tuck Wah, were named as the alliance candidates in Selangor.

Selangor PAS chief Sallehen Mukhyi will defend his Sabak seat, while three Selangor exco members – Iskandar Abdul Samad, Ahmad Yunus Hairi and Zaidy Abdul Talib – will defend their seats of Chempaka (formerly known Pandan Indah), Sijangkang and Taman Templer, respectively.

Sallehen said 11 PAS incumbent assemblymen would defend their seats in GE14, except for Abd Rani Osman (Meru), who will contest the Kapar parliamentary seat.

In Johor Bahru, PAS announced it would contest 20 parliamentary seats and 41 state seats in GE14.

“Our candidates comprise 15% religious scholars, 25% activists and 60% professionals,” Johor PAS commissioner Abdullah Husin said when announcing the list last night.

Abdullah will be defending his Puteri Wangsa state seat and will also contest the Tebrau parliamentary seat, while PAS Dewan Ulama chief Mahfodz Mohamed will contest the Gambir state seat and the Batu Pahat parliamentary seat.

Also listed was Nordin Othman, a candidate from Berjasa which is part of Gagasan Sejahtera, for the Tanjung Piai parliamentary seat.

In Melaka, the party will contest five out of the six parliamentary seats and 24 out of the 28 state seats with Melaka PAS chief Kamarudin Sidek to contest the Duyong state seat.

Melaka Hospital deputy director Dr Mohd Khalid Kassim will represent the party to contest the Hang Tuah Jaya parliamentary seat, while businesswoman Kintan Man will contest the Rim state seat.

In Alor Setar, PAS will contest all 15 parliamentary seats and 36 state seats.

Kedah PAS chief Ahmad Fakhrudin Sheikh Fakhrurrazi said 70% new faces were named, including five women to contest four state seats and the Kubang Pasu parliamentary seat.

The party has yet to announce its candidate for Langkawi, where Dr Mahathir Mohamad is contesting.

In Kepala Batas, Penang PAS chief Mohd Fauzi Yusoff said the party would be contesting six out of the 13 parliamentary seats in Penang as well as 13 out of the 40 state seats.

In Taiping, Perak PAS commissioner Razman Zakaria said the alliance would be going for 19 of the 21 parliamentary seats and all 43 state seats in Perak.

He said they would be fielding five women candidates including three from DHPP. He himself will be contesting the Gunong Semanggol state seat.

Click here to get live updates throughout the GE14 season