PAS gunning for PKR seats in Penang

Penang PAS commissioner Muhammad Fauzi Yusof says the party will go big in the coming polls.

BUTTERWORTH: PAS is confident that it can win most of the 24 seats it plans to contest in Penang, vowing to replace what it calls a Pakatan Harapan (PH) state government led by leaders with questionable ethics with a “clean” PAS rule.

But with the exception of the Sungai Pinang state seat and Permatang Pauh parliamentary seat which is expected to see a four-cornered fight, there are no notable figures in the party’s race to win seats in Penang.

Most of the seats contested are against PKR, with only one DAP-held state seat.

Penang PAS commissioner Muhammad Fauzi Yusof said the party was fielding “clean” candidates who were true Penangites and had sworn not to jump ship once they won the seats.

Over 800 people gathered at PAS’ headquarters in Kepala Batas last night.

“We have selected the best candidates from Penang and are corruption-free,” he told some 800 people at the Penang PAS headquarters in Kepala Batas here yesterday.

Penang PAS candidates taking the vow not to leave the party after winning their seats in the election.

Earlier, state PAS secretary Iszuree Ibrahim said the party has received good traction in Penang as the Chinese community was showing interest in it.

He added that the Chinese people in Penang were now wiser and would not vote for Barisan Nasional (BN) or DAP as both were fraught with issues.

“A Chinese woman I spoke with indicated that they (the Chinese) might just pick PAS as we are better than the other parties.

“This is not surprising, as BN has 71 corruption cases and PH has 24. PAS is clean, without any records,” he said.

Fauzi also announced the list of candidates for Penang, the majority of whom are highly qualified with least a degree or master’s-level education.

Of the 24 seats contested by PAS, 14 are against PKR, five against PPBM, four against Amanah and one against DAP.

PAS’ candidates for Penang are as follows:


Kepala Batas – Siti Masturah Mohamad

Tasek Gelugor – Rizal Hafiz Ruslan

Permatang Pauh – Hafnan Hamimi Taib Azamudden

Nibong Tebal – Mohd Helmi Haron

Bayan Baru – Iszuree Ibrahim

Balik Pulau – Muhammad Imran Muhammad Saad


Penaga – Mohd Yusni Mat Piah

Bertam – Moktar Ramly

Pinang Tunggal – Bukhori Ghazali

Permatang Berangan – Mohd Sobri saleh

Sungai Dua – Zahadi Mohd

Telok Ayer Tawar – Mohamad Hanif Haron

Seberang Jaya – Mohd Rafaei A Rashid

Penanti – Muhammad Fawwaz Mohamad Jan

Permatang Pasir – Muhammad Fauzi Yusof

Bukit Tengah – Norazman Ishak

Sg Bakap – Osman Jaafar

Sg Acheh – Nor Zamri Latiff

Sg Pinang – Yacoob Omar

Pantai Jerejak – Mohd Farhan Yusri

Batu Maung – Saiful Lizan Md Yusoff

Bayan Lepas – Zarina Shinta Madar

Pulau Betong – Mohd Taufik Hashim

Teluk Bahang – Mohd Ali Othman

Click here to get live updates throughout the GE14 season