Who will face Dr M in Langkawi?

Former national footballer Radhi Mat Din (second right) and Romani Wan Salim, who is Bukit Pinang incumbent, in a show of solidarity after the announcement of Kedah PAS candidates.

ALOR SETAR: PAS’ candidate to face former prime minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad in Langkawi remains a mystery, even after Kedah PAS announced its list of candidates for the coming election (GE14) last night.

Kedah PAS commissioner Ahmad Fakhruddin Syeikh Fakhrurazi announced that a candidate from Parti Ikatan Bangsa Malaysia, which is part of the Gagasan Sejahtera pact, would contest the island seat.

However, he did not name the candidate, leaving everyone guessing as to who had been picked to face off against the Pakatan Harapan (PH) chairman.

During a press conference later, Ahmad Fakhruddin said the decision to field a candidate from Parti Ikatan was made by the central leadership.

“The candidate will be decided and announced later,” he said at the Kedah PAS complex, where the Islamist party announced its list of candidates for 14 parliamentary seats and 36 state seats.

About 3,000 PAS members and supporters were present for the announcement.

Ahmad Fakhruddin himself will be contesting the Pengkalan Kundor state seat, where he will face off against Kedah Amanah chairman Ismail Salleh.

Other notable mentions were ex-national footballer Radhi Mat Din in the Pokok Sena parliamentary seat, and YouTube preacher Shahril Long who will contest the Sungai Petani parliamentary seat.

Party veteran Mohd Hayati Othman, who was once Pendang MP, will contest the Tokai state seat.

Post-GE13, PAS held one parliamentary seat and eight state seats.

However, both numbers were later reduced, with incumbent Pokok Sena MP Mahfuz Omar defecting to Amanah, and incumbent Anak Bukit assemblyman Amiruddin Hamzah jumping ship to PPBM.

On why Mohd Taulan Rasul was not defending his Tokai state seat, Ahmad Fakhruddin said he had been dropped due to health reasons.

Those who will be defending their seats include Siti Aishah Ghazali for the Merbau Pulas state seat, Romani Wan Salim for the Bukit Pinang state seat, Ahmad Yahaya for the Alor Mengkudu state seat, and Mohd Azam Abd Samat for the Sungai Limau state seat.

Click here to get live updates throughout the GE14 season