Subra to defend Segamat seat, Sivarraajh Camerons

PETALING JAYA: MIC president Dr S Subramaniam will be defending his Segamat parliamentary seat in Johor while its Youth chief C Sivarraajh will stand in Cameron Highlands, Pahang.

MyPPP was earlier eyeing the Cameron Highlands seat, traditionally contested by MIC.

In the last polls, the seat was contested and won by MIC through former MIC president G Palanivel.

MIC released its list of candidates today which also saw deputy president SK Devamany contesting the Sungai Siput parliamentary seat in Perak.

The party will contest a total of nine parliamentary and 18 state seats.

“The candidates have been selected based on several important factors. We hope the local communities and voters will give these candidates their full support,” said Subramaniam in a statement today.

The other candidates for parliamentary seats are FT MIC chief M Saravanan, who will stand in Tapah; central working committee (CWC) member P Kamalanathan (Hulu Selangor); Wanita chief M Mohana (Kapar); branch chief A Pakas Rao (Sungai Buloh); CWC member V Gunalan (Kota Raja); and MIC communications officer V Mogan (Port Dickson).

The candidates for state seats are:

* M Thuraisingam (Lunas)
* Jaspal Singh (Bukit Selambau)
* J Dhinagaran (Bagan Dalam)
* M Suresh (Perai)
* V Elango (Sungkai)
* K Thankaraj (Jelapang)
* L Manikam (Jeram Padang)
* R Thinalan (Sri Tanjung)
* P Panirchelvam (Gadek)
* R Goonasakaren (Sabai)
* M Asojan (Gambir)
* K Ravenkumar (Tenggaroh)
* R Vidyananthan (Kahang)
* S Kanan (Skudai)
* K Parthiban (Ijok)
* N Rawisandran (Sungai Tua)
* R Subramaniam (Sentosa)

No name was listed for the Buntong state seat in Perak.

Click here to get live updates throughout the GE14 season.