3 new faces in Sarawak DAP line-up

Sarawak DAP chairman Chong Chieng Jen will contest in Stampin.

KUCHING: Sarawak DAP will field three new faces in the coming polls while five incumbent MPs have been renominated to defend their seats.

The three new candidates are Dr Kelvin Yii (Bandar Kuching), Paren Nyawi (Kapit) and Tony Chan Yew Chiew (Bintulu).

Yii is a medical practitioner, Nyawi an accountant and Chan a businessman.

Other candidates announced by Sarawak DAP chairman Chong Chieng Jen here last night were Edward Luak (Serian) and Mordi Bimol (Mas Gading).

Chong himself will contest in Stampin.

Last week, the party also announced its candidates for three other seats in central Sarawak.

The three incumbents, Alice Lau (Lanang), Oscar Ling (Sibu) and Wong Lin Biu (Sarikei) will defend their seats.

Of the nine seats, it will be difficult for DAP to wrest Bintulu, Serian and Kapit from Barisan Nasional (BN) as these are held by BN’s top guns in Sarawak.

However, DAP stands a fair chance in Mas Gading where there is reportedly an internal BN tussle for the seat.

DAP is expected to face challenges in defending Stampin and Sibu due to the redelineation exercise carried out just after the 2016 state election.

Sarawak holds its state polls separately.

Click here to get live updates throughout the GE14 season