PKR’s 2-term Teluk Kemang MP dropped for GE14

Teluk Kemang incumbent Kamarul Baharin Abbas will be replaced by newcomer Rosman Jonet.

PETALING JAYA: PKR has dropped Kamarul Baharin Abbas, its two-term incumbent MP for Teluk Kemang which is now known as Port Dickson, from its candidate list for Negeri Sembilan, the party announced today.

In a statement, it said newcomer Rosman Jonet would replace Kamarul. He is expected to face Barisan Nasional’s (BN) VS Mogan, who lost to Kamarul in 2013, and Mahfuz Roslan of PAS.

Kamarul won the Teluk Kemang seat in 2008, defeating former MIC vice-president SG Sothinathan with a majority of 2,804 votes.

He successfully defended the seat in 2013 in a three-way contest against Mogan and independent Kamaruddin Kumaravel Abdullah, but with a lower majority of 1,579 votes.

PKR also named Roseli Abdul Gani to take on BN’s Rembau incumbent Khairy Jamaluddin, who is the Umno Youth chief. PAS will also field Mustafa Dolah as its candidate for the seat.

In 2013, Khairy polled 43,053 votes to beat PKR’s Radzali A Ghani, who secured 24,696 votes, and independent Abdul Aziz Hassan who only managed 325 votes.

The PKR statement also named 12 candidates for state seats in Negeri Sembilan, headed by state Pakatan Harapan chairman Aminuddin Harun who will contest in Sikamat.

He will face TV motivation programme personality Syamsul Amri Ismail who is better known as Syamsul Debat of BN and PAS candidate Rahim Yusof.

The following is the full list of Negeri Sembilan PKR candidates:

Parliamentary seats

Rembau – Roseli Abdul Gani

Port Dickson – Rosman Jonet

State seats

Sungai Lui – Zainal Fikri Abd Kadir

Jeram – S Musliadi Sabtu

Sikamat – Aminuddin Harun

Ampangan – Mohamad Rafie Ab Malek

Juasseh – Rosli Omar

Pilah – Mohamad Nazaruddin Sabtu

Labu – Ismail Ahmad

Rantau – Streram Sinnasamy

Chuah – Yek Diew Ching

Linggi – Rusli Abdullah

Sri Tanjung – Ravi Munusamy

Gemas – Baharuddin Arif Siri

Click here to get live updates throughout the GE14 season