Don’t my 8 years of service in Wangsa Maju count, incumbent asks PKR

Dr Tan Kee Kwong says he has created a strong support base among voters in Wangsa Maju over the past 8 years. (Facebook pic)

PETALING JAYA: Dr Tan Kee Kwong has questioned the PKR leadership for not letting him defend the Wangsa Maju parliamentary seat which he won in the 2013 general election with a large majority.

He expressed his disappointment, saying that he had been serving Wangsa Maju for eight years, even before contesting in 2013.

He cited the ceramah in Danau Kota last Sunday that drew thousands as a sign that voters supported him in the constituency.

“What better endorsement than that does the leadership want? I have strong support from voters in Wangsa Maju.”

Kee Kwong said the fact that Pakatan Harapan chairman Dr Mahathir Mohamad stopped by to speak at the ceramah could also be seen as a form of endorsement.

“This was the only constituency in Kuala Lumpur at which Mahathir gave a speech. This clearly indicates that he supports me as a candidate in Wangsa Maju,” Kee Kwong said.

Yesterday, PKR announced that the party’s treasurer-general Tan Yee Kew would help the party defend the seat, which has a slight Malay majority.

Kee Kwong’s reaction was one of disbelief for two reasons — that Yee Kew lost in the 2013 election in Tanjung Malim and she had not done anything in the constituency.

“How can the party pick a loser?

“Also, how can they parachute a person from elsewhere into Wangsa Maju? How can PKR pick a candidate who is not active here?” Kee Kwong asked.

In the 2013 general election, Yee Kew stood as a PKR candidate in the Tanjung Malim parliamentary seat but lost to Barisan Nasional’s Ong Ka Chuan by more than 4,328 votes.

She had left MCA to join PKR in 2008. Yee Kew was previously a three-term Klang MP, having won the seat for the Barisan Nasional in 1995, 1999 and 2004.

In the upcoming polls on May 9, she will be contesting against Federal Territory MCA chairman Yew Teong Look and PAS’ Razali Tumiran.

Half of the voters in Wangsa Maju are Malays, 40% Chinese and 10% Indians and other ethnic groups.

In 2013, Kee Kwong defeated Wangsa Maju Umno division chief Mohd Shafei Abdullah with a majority of 5,511 votes, in a straight fight which saw a voter turnout of 57,771 (86%).


Wan Azizah’s signature needed for PH candidates

Tian Chua: Wangsa Maju needs a young, bilingual candidate

Wangsa Maju MP sure of winning again