Disgruntled PPBM member runs as independent in Kuah

Mohamad Ratu Mansor (centre) will be contesting the Kuah state seat as an independent in this general election.

LANGKAWI: Disgruntled over not being fielded by PPBM in the 14th general election, one of its lifetime members is contesting the Kuah state seat as an independent.

Mohamad Ratu Mansor, 42, who is making his debut in the coming election, said it was up to the leadership if they wanted to take action against him.

“We want to make changes, but they (PPBM) do not want to change. They are still behaving like Umno.

“I am going to try my best. I am a Langkawi native. From Pulau Tuba. I believe there are 5,000 party members who will support me.

“There is the possibility I can win. I will try,” he told reporters after filing his nomination papers at the Langkawi Land and District Office here today.

Decked in red, one could have easily mistaken him as a Pakatan Harapan (PH) candidate. Ratu will be using the symbol of a tree during the election.

Aside from Ratu, the other three candidates for the state seat are Barisan Nasional’s (BN) incumbent Nor Saidi Nanyan, Pakatan Harapan’s Mohd Firdaus Ahmad, and PAS’ Mazlan Ahmad.

There is no lack of affection between PPBM’s Juhari Bulat (left) and BN’s Mohd Rawi Abd Hamid, even as they go up against each other in the state seat of Ayer Hangat. Juhari was once Rawi’s political mentor.

Meanwhile, the contest for the Ayer Hangat state seat will see a mentor going up against his mentee.

PPBM’s Juhari Bulat will be going up against BN’s incumbent Mohd Rawi Abd Hamid in the coming election.

Juhari was once the permanent chairman for Langkawi Umno for many years and has known Rawi for 30 years.

“It is going to be a tough fight against Rawi in Ayer Hangat. Why I am saying this is because there may be money politics. If there is money involved, we cannot control the situation,” he added.

The other candidate contesting the Ayer Hangat seat is PAS’ Azlina Azinan, making it a three-cornered fight.

The Langkawi seat, on the other hand, will see a three-way contest between BN’s incumbent Nawawi Ahmad, PH’s Dr Mahathir Mohamad and PAS’ Zubir Ahmad.


Dr M: No promises, just my track record on Langkawi