PKR almost didn’t get to contest in Bukit Melawati

G Sivamalar’s nomination papers were rejected as her MyKad showed her residence was in Raub, Pahang. (Facebook pic)

KUALA SELANGOR: PKR almost lost the Bukit Melawati state seat when the party candidate G Sivamalar’s nomination papers were rejected by the Election Commission.

Kuala Selangor returning officer Railah Rahmat, who confirmed the matter, said Sivamalar was denied nomination after it was found that the PKR candidate’s address on her MyKad read Raub, Pahang, but she was contesting the Bukit Melawati state seat in Kuala Selangor.

However, the presence of replacement candidate Juwairiya Zulkifli saved the situation when she was accepted as PKR’s candidate for the state seat.

Railah told reporters that they had rejected Sivamalar’s nomination because she was not from here and this violated the regulations.

However, she added, the EC received Juwairiya’s electoral candidacy and the deposit before the nomination process ended at 10am today.

Meanwhile, Malaysian Fisheries Development Authority (LKIM) chairman Irmohizam Ibrahim from BN will lock horns with Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad (PKR) and Mohd Fakaruddin Ismail (PAS) in an effort to retain BN’s control over the Kuala Selangor parliamentary seat.

In GE13, Irmohizam won the Kuala Selangor parliamentary seat with a 460-vote majority.

For the Bukit Melawati state seat, Jakiran Jacomah from BN will face a three-cornered fight with Muhammad Rashid Muhammad Kassim (PAS) and Juwairiya Zulkifli (PKR).

The Ijok state seat will witness a four-cornered fight between Parti Rakyat Malaysia (PRM) candidate T Kumaran, BN’s K Parthiban, PKR’s Dr Idris Ahmad and PAS’ Jefri Mejan.