Two ex-teachers out to topple ex-teacher Adnan

Pahang BN leader Adnan Yaakob was a teacher before going into politics. (Facebook pic)

BENTONG: Three former teachers are contesting the Pelangai state seat, including Adnan Yaakob, the Pahang BN leader and menteri besar, who seeks re-election.

Adnan, 68, has been the assemblyman for Pelangai since 1985. He was a teacher at Sekolah Menengah Agama Pelangai and left the teaching service in 1985 to become a politician.

His challengers are:

Zaharim Osman, 61, (PAS) who is also a distant relative of Adnan and a former teacher at Sekolah Menengah Chemomoi here. He has 12 children from two wives.

Norhaizan Abu Hassan, 59, (PH-Amanah) who is a retired teacher from Kampung Bukit Gajah, Simpang Pelangai here.

In the 2013 general election, Adnan defeated Abdul Hamid Bahatim of PAS with a majority of 2,475 votes.

Pelangai is one of the four state seats within the Bentong parliamentary constituency. The other state seats are Bilut, Ketari and Sabai.

The contestants there are:


  • Kamache Doray Rajoo (PH-DAP)
  • R. Goonasegaran (BN-MIC), who is Pahang MIC chairman
  • Mohd Khairuddin Abdullah (PAS)
  • T. Karunaneethi (Ind.)


  • Young Syefura Othman (PH-DAP)
  • Roslan Md Esa (PAS)
  • Lau Hoi Keong (BN)


  • Lee Chin Chen (PH-DAP)
  • Poo Moon Hong (BN-MCA)
  • Mohd Zamri Nong (PAS)