No internal problem in Padang Rengas, says PKR candidate

PKR’s Padang Rengas candidate Ejazi Yahaya (left) is seen here with party Youth chief Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad. Ejazi says the party machinery is working well. (Pic from Nik Nazmi’s Facebook)

PADANG RENGAS: PKR’s Padang Rengas candidate Ejazi Yahaya has dismissed speculation that there were problems within the party machinery.

Ejazi, who is popularly known as “Cikgu Ejazi”, told FMT that the party machinery was working better than before.

There had been talk among observers that the party’s machinery had been paralysed due to unhappiness over his candidacy.

Two PKR division committee members, Shahrom Adam and Ahmad Azizi Abdul Mutalib, had told FMT they were concerned that the party’s leadership had chosen the wrong man to defeat Umno strongman Nazri Aziz in the northern Perak seat.

They said that the party had previously informed the grassroots that Lukman Yahya would be selected as the candidate, but this was not the case and Lukman was selected to stand in the Cenderoh state seat instead.

The committee members claimed Lukman turned down the seat.

“Lukman is a local boy, he has been working hard on the ground,” said Shahrom.

“Now we have no chance of beating Nazri.”

Ejazi, however, denied there were problems within the party machinery, but admitted that a couple of individuals were disappointed that he was chosen as a candidate.

He said Lukman’s rejection of the Chenderoh seat had angered the party’s leadership, while division chief Alias Ibrahim, who had backed Lukman, had resigned.

“Last year, Alias had threatened the state and central leadership that he would freeze the party machinery if Lukman was not selected as the Padang Rengas candidate.

“So the party leadership was already prepared. Not only is our machinery unaffected, we are strengthened and supported by the machineries of our PH allies.”

In the May 9 polls, five-term Padang Rengas MP Nazri will defend the seat against Ejazi and PAS’ Mohamad Azalan Mohd Radzi.

In GE13, Nazri defeated PKR’s Meor Ahmad Isharra Ishak by 2,230 votes.

Click here to get live updates throughout the GE14 season