BN takes a beating in Penang, losing 8 state seats

The incoming Penang state assembly will see only three reps take their place in the opposition bench. (Reuters pic)

GEORGE TOWN: The Barisan Nasional opposition has been decimated in Penang with their numbers in the state legislative assembly greatly reduced following the 14th general election (GE14) yesterday.

BN used to hold 10 state seats, but they only managed to retain two of them – Permatang Berangan with newcomer Nor Hafizah Othman, and Sungai Dua incumbent Muhamad Yusoff Mohd Noor.

Meanwhile, Mohd Yusni Mat Piah, who is Penang PAS info chief, won the Penaga state seat to complete the opposition line-up in the state.

This means the opposition only holds a total of three seats in the 40-seat state assembly.

It is likely that BN’s Hafizah will be the state’s second woman opposition leader after Jahara Hamid, who decided to not to contest in GE14.

Meanwhile, BN lost its deposit for six state seats, that is Pengkalan Kota, Batu Lanchang, Paya Terubong, Sungai Puyu, Berapit and Padang Lalang.

PAS lost their deposits in five state seats out of the 18 state seats it contested – Bukit Tengah, Bayan Lepas, Batu Maung, Pulau Betong and Telok Bahang.

On the PH front, DAP maintained its performance retaining the 19 state seats it had won in the 2013 general election.

PKR increased its representation, from 10 to 14 state seats, despite having given up four of the seats it had contested in 2013 to Amanah and PPBM, both of which now have two seats each in the Penang state assembly.

Amanah won the Permatang Pasir seat previously held by PAS and the Bayan Lepas seat previously held by BN.

PPBM won the Bertam and Teluk Bahang state seats, both former BN strongholds.

The Penang assembly has 40 seats in total.