Azmin reshuffles line-up for ‘progressive’ Selangor

Selangor Menteri Besar Mohamed Azmin Ali says the majority of his administration are serving as excos for the first time. (Facebook pic)

PETALING JAYA: Selangor Menteri Besar Mohamed Azmin Ali today named his line-up of state executive councillors, which includes seven new faces.

DAP’s Teng Chang Kim and V Ganabatirau were retained, along with Amirudin Shari of PKR.

Azmin said as with previous terms, the majority of his administration comprised assemblymen who were serving as excos for the first time.

“This does not mean the previous ones contributed nothing to the state, but Selangor needs a dynamic team with fresh ideas.

“Selangor is a progressive state which requires a combination of experience and dynamism to ensure that work is carried out effectively and efficiently,” he said, adding that all 10 had been sworn in by the Selangor sultan this morning.

Of the 10 executive councillors, four are from PKR, three from DAP, two from Amanah and one from PPBM.

The excos according to party are:


Amirudin Shari: Youth empowerment and sports, entrepreneur development, and rural and traditional village development.

Shaharuddin Badaruddin: Islamic affairs, education, human development, and science, technology and innovation.

Haniza Talha: Housing and urban living.

Lee Hoy Sian: Natural environment, green technology, and consumer affairs.


Teng Chang Khim: Investment, industry and trade, and small and medium industries.

V Ganabatirau: Socio-economic empowerment and caring government

Ng Sze Han: Local government, public transportation, and new village development.


Izham Hashim: Infrastructure and public amenities, agricultural modernisation and agro-based industry.

Dr Siti Mariah Mahmud: Health, welfare, and women and family empowerment.


Abdul Rashid Asari: Tourism and culture, and Malay customs and heritage.