Ku Li, Khairy, Zahid confirmed among candidates for Umno top post

Umno elections will be held on June 30.

KUALA LUMPUR: Umno will announce its final list of candidates for the party’s upcoming polls on Wednesday, its headquarters secretary-general Nor Azuwan Aziz said today.

He said the list had yet to be concluded as the vetting process on the nominees’ qualifications and financial standing was still ongoing.

However, he confirmed the seven contenders for the president’s post in the election to be held on June 30.

As reported earlier, they include former finance minister Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah, Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin and acting president Ahmad Zahid Hamidi.

The other candidates for president are Rahmat Azim Abdul Aziz, Rosile Saat, Mohamed Iqbal Maricair and Mohd Yusof Musa @ Jamaluddin.

Sungai Besar Umno division chief Jamal Yunos, who is being sought by the police, is in the running for the Youth chief’s post.

Jamal had first declared his intention to contest the seat on June 3.

The police had issued a warrant of arrest against him after he vanished from the Ampang Puteri Specialist Hospital, where he was receiving treatment for back pain, a few hours after he was charged there before a magistrate on May 25.

He had pleaded not guilty to three charges and was allowed bail of RM3,000 for each of the offences.

Asked about Jamal’s eligibility in light of the charges against him, Nor Azuwan said it would depend on whether he was found guilty.

“Until he is proven guilty, he can contest,” he said.

Nor Azuwan also confirmed former Negeri Sembilan menteri besar Mohamad Hasan, former minister Annuar Musa and Pekan Umno member Mohd Afnalizam Mohd Salim to be in the running for the deputy president’s post.

He said the complete list of candidates for the Supreme Council, as well as seats in the Wanita, Puteri and Youth wings had not yet been finalised due to checks on a few criteria, including the candidates’ financial status.

He said if a Supreme Council aspirant did not fulfil the stipulated criteria, he would be automatically disqualified from the race without a replacement.

He also said a total of 124 party members had submitted their nominations for the Supreme Council seats.

They include Shahidan Kassim, Razali Ibrahim, Idris Haron, Zambry Abdul Kadir, Abdul Azeez Abdul Rahim, Jamil Khir Baharom, Mohamad Khir Toyo, Abdul Rahman Dahlan, Reezal Merican Naina Merican, Azalina Othman Said, Rosnah Abdul Rashid Shirlin, Puad Zarkashi, Hamim Samuri, Noh Omar and Ahmad Shabery Cheek.

The candidates for the three vice-presidents’ seats included Johari Abdul Ghani, Tajuddin Abdul Rahman, Mohamed Khaled Nordin, Ismail Sabri Yaakob, Mahdzir Khalid, Ahmad Said, Shukri Roslan and Syed Razali Syed Ahmad.

As for the Umno Youth chief’s post, the contenders besides Jamal are Syed Rosli Syed Harman and Asyraf Wajdi Dusuki, Mohd Norizat Mohd Johari, Khairul Azwan Harun, Mohd Shahar Abdullah, Wan Mohd Haslin Agil Wan Hassan, Abdul Razak Mohd Yusof and Imran Azhar Armin.

He also confirmed Zahida Zarik Khan and Haslina Mohd Hashim to be in the running for Puteri chief, and Noraini Ahmad, Azizah Mohd Dun and Siti Zaharah Sulaiman for Wanita chief.

Umno secretary-general Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor would issue a statement on the final list on Wednesday, Nor Azuwan said.

7 contenders vie to be Umno president

Khairy confirms he will contest president’s post

Jamal now offers himself as Anwar’s running mate in Umno polls