Sarawak Day launch for new Sarawak coalition

The public have been invited to design a logo for Gabungan Parti Sarawak.

KUCHING: A technical committee is working out organisational matters for Gabungan Parti Sarawak, the new ruling coalition of state-based political parties, and hopes to officially launch the coalition on July 22, which is Sarawak Day.

The coalition was formed by parties that left the Barisan Nasional two weeks ago and comprises Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu, Parti Rakyat Sarawak, Sarawak United People’s Party, and the Progressive Democratic Party.

They control 67 of the 82 seats in the state assembly: PBB (46), PRS (11), SUPP (7), PDP (3). The opposition Pakatan Harapan holds 10 seats, while the independent United People’s Party holds 5.

Yesterday, PBB secretary-general Alexander Nanta Linggi chaired a meeting of the technical committee attended by the respective secretaries-general of the other three parties and legal experts.

Linggi said a pro-tem governing committee would be set up, a new logo created and letters letters submitted to the Dewan Rakyat to state that the parties were no longer with BN, and another one to BN to express gratitude for past cooperation.

“The protem committee will comprise the president and secretary-general of the four parties,” Linggi said.

A logo competition would be launched, open to the public.

The protem committee meeting is expected to be held on July 12, two days after the decision on the new logo is finalised.

Sarawak has celebrated July 22 as a public holiday since 2016 to commemorate the anniversary of Sarawak’s independence from Britain.

Beware of new Gabungan Parti Sarawak, PH told

Will GPS get the people’s backing in Sarawak?