Anwar takes office as new PKR president in November

Anwar Ibrahim wins the PKR president’s post unopposed. (Bernama pic)

PETALING JAYA: Anwar Ibrahim is officially the new PKR president, having won the post unopposed, it was announced today.

However, Anwar will only assume the role after the PKR national congress scheduled for Nov 16 and 17, PKR elections committee chairman Rashid Din said.

“Until then, Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail will be the party president,” he said.

Rashid also said objections and appeals over the nomination of candidates for the 2018 PKR elections could be made beginning today, except for Selangor.

The nomination of candidates for posts in Selangor has been set for Aug 12 because of the Sungai Kandis by-election that was held on Aug 4.

Rashid said two nominations had been received for the post of deputy president, one from incumbent Mohamed Azmin Ali and the other from vice-president Rafizi Ramli.

Twelve candidates are vying for the five posts of vice-president, including the four incumbents, Nurul Izzah Anwar (Permatang Pauh MP); Xavier Jayakumar (Kuala Langat MP); Tian Chua (former Batu MP) and Shamsul Iskandar Mohd Akin (Hang Tuah Jaya MP).

The eight others are William Leong (Selayang MP); Michael Tamil (former Subang Jaya municipal councillor); Zuraida Kamarudin (Ampang MP); Prof Dr G Balasubramaniam; Azan Ismail (PKR Terengganu chairman); K Vasantha Kumar; Johari Abdul (Sungai Petani MP) and Kesavan Subramaniam (Sungai Siput MP).

Eighty-eight candidates are seeking election to the 20 posts in the central leadership council.

About 800,000 PKR members are eligible to vote in the elections which will be held in stages, according to states, from Sept 14 to Oct 10, involving 218 divisions.

Rashid said the names of the candidates would be displayed beginning today at the party headquarters and state offices and on the party’s official website.

“Objections can be made from today till Aug 11. The appeal process will be from Aug 12 to 14. We hope to finalise the list of candidates on Aug 16,” he said.

The objections and appeals would be considered by the objections, appeals and disciplinary panel, chaired by Dr Syed Husin Ali, he said.