Backbenchers club now known as backbenchers council

KUALA LUMPUR: The government Backbenchers Club is now known as the Backbenchers Council.

Backbenchers Council chief coordinator Ong Ooi Heng said the name Backbenchers Club would no longer be used.

“The abbreviation is BBC and not PHBBC. This is because members of the Backbenchers Council include members of Parliament who are not from the Pakatan Harapan coalition such as Warisan (Parti Warisan Sabah),” he said in a statement today.

He said Sungai Petani lawmaker Johari Abdul has been appointed BBC chairman while Lanang lawmaker Alice Lau Kiong Yieng has been made deputy chairman.

“Tanjong Malim Member of Parliament Chang Lih Kang is the council’s secretary,” he said adding that all party whips were members of the BBC committee.