PH’s Balakong candidate expects smaller majority this time

Wong Siew Ki.

BANGI: Pakatan Harapan (PH) candidate Wong Siew Ki does not expect the majority vote for the Balakong by-election to match that obtained in the general election on May 9.

She said it all depended on the voter turnout, adding that if the recent Sungai Kandis by-election was anything to go by, the majority would likely be smaller.

“Like Sungai Kandis – the voter turnout was very low,” the former Subang Jaya Municipal Council member said after submitting her nomination form at the Dewan Demense of the Hulu Langat District and Land Office.

“If it happens again, I don’t think we will be able to hit as high a majority.”

On a lighter note, Wong noted the length of the campaign period for the Balakong by-election, which will stretch for 21 days until 11.59pm on Sept 7.

She said it would be one of the longest campaign periods in history, adding that it would be used primarily for walkabouts.

“I even bought new shoes especially for this campaign period. I hope they last,” she joked.

Nomination for the Balakong by-election was held today, with early voting on Sept 4 and the election itself on Sept 8.

This will be the first time PH uses its coalition logo in an election.

When asked how the new logo was expected to affect the by-election, Wong said it was a good start.

“Finally we can be seen as one party,” she added.

Tan Chee Teong,

MCA candidate Tan Chee Teong meanwhile said it would be an uphill battle to win this by-election.

Tan, who is a committee member of MCA’s Serdang division, said they had lost by a majority of 35,538 in the last election.

“The majority was huge. But although my chances are very slim, I will try my best.

“This is not my personal war. It is the people’s war,” he said. “Our priority is to make Malaysia a better country.”

Submissions for the Balakong by-election ended at 10am.

The state seat fell vacant after its assemblyman Eddie Ng died in a car crash last month.

In the 14th general election, Ng obtained 41,768 votes while MCA’s Lim Chee Wah received 5,874 votes and PAS’ Mohamad Ibrahim Ghazali got 6,230 votes.