Polling kicks off in Balakong, Seri Setia

Election Commission officials make final preparations at a polling centre in Balakong. (Bernama pic)

BALAKONG: Voting for the Seri Setia and Balakong by-elections kicked off at 8am today, with 18 polling centres opened for Seri Setia and 16 for Balakong comprising 115 and 128 channels respectively.

The polling centres in Balakong comprise 14 schools, a community hall and a recreation centre, while Seri Setia will see voting at 14 schools, a polytechnic and three community halls.

All polling centres will be closed at 5.30pm.

Balakong has 62,219 registered voters while Seri Setia has 50,692.

On Tuesday, 28 out of 31 early voters in Balakong and 77% of 2,770 early voters in Seri Setia cast their votes at the Seri Kembangan police quarters, Ababil multi-purpose hall at the Royal Malaysian Air Force Base in Subang Jaya and the SMS Complex of the Royal Malaysian Police in Shah Alam.

The Election Commission estimates a 70% voter turnout at both by-elections with the results expected by 10pm at the earliest.

Vote counting for Balakong will be held at the Demense Main Hall, Hulu Langat District and Land Office in Bangi, while vote counting for Seri Setia will be at the Petaling Jaya City Council Civic Hall.

Both by-elections see a straight fight between candidates. In Balakong, Pakatan Harapan (PH) candidate Wong Siew Ki is facing MCA candidate Tan Chee Teong, while in Seri Setia, Halimey Abu Bakar of PH is up against Dr Halimah Ali from PAS.

The two Selangor state seats fell vacant following the deaths of incumbents Eddie Ng (Balakong) and Shaharuddin Badaruddin (Seri Setia).

Ng died in a road accident on July 20 while Shaharuddin died of colon cancer on Aug 2.

Ng from DAP won with a majority of 35,538 votes in the 14th general election while Shaharuddin of PKR won with a majority of 19,372 votes.