MIC confirms not contesting Port Dickson seat

MIC president SA Vigneswaran says MIC does not want to interfere with Umno’s plans in Port Dickson. (Bernama pic)

KUALA LUMPUR: MIC has confirmed that it will not contest the Port Dickson parliamentary by-election.

Its president SA Vigneswaran, said the decision was made following several media statements made by Umno leaders proposing that Umno field its candidate for the Port Dickson by-election.

MIC had held the seat, formerly known as Telok Kemang, for four consecutive terms before losing it to PKR.

Vigneswaran claimed that Umno deputy president Mohammad Hasan and vice-president Mohamed Khaled Nordin had indicated that Umno would be fielding its candidate to face PKR president-elect Anwar Ibrahim.

“We will not interfere because the decision should be unanimously made by Barisan Nasional (BN) and not by Umno through its media statements.

“Since Umno has made its decision, then let them do what they want. We are not contesting the by-election,” he said after attending the MIC central working committee meeting here today.

The Port Dickson parliamentary seat fell vacant after incumbent Danyal Balagopal Abdullah tendered his resignation to make way for Anwar to contest and return to Parliament if he wins.