Musa retains seat as Warisan’s election petition fails

Former Sabah chief minister Musa Aman. (Bernama pic)

KOTA KINABALU: Former Sabah chief minister Musa Aman retained his Sungai Sibuga state seat today as the Election Court in Sandakan struck out Warisan’s petition to nullify his win in the May 9 polls.

Kuching-based High Court judge Azhahari Kamal Ramli, who presided over the Election Court, dismissed the petition of Warisan’s Sungai Sibuga candidate Asmara Abdul Rahman.

Asmara had named Musa, the returning officer and the Election Commission (EC) as the first, second and third respondents, respectively.

In the same court, Azhahari also struck out another Warisan petition against Zakaria Edris for the Libaran parliamentary seat. The petition was filed by Warisan’s Libaran candidate Irwanshah Mustapha.

Musa’s legal team had filed an application to strike out both election petitions on Aug 14.

One of Musa’s counsels, Ridzwandean M Borhan, said the judge had struck out the election petitions after finding they had not complied with election petition rules.

“The judge ruled that the petitioner for the Sungai Sibuga case had not complied with Rule 3 of the election petition rules where they have to file three copies of the petition. They only filed two,” he said.

He added that a petitioner was required to file his or her papers within 28 days of the alleged corrupt practice.However, the petitioners of the Sungai Sibuga and Libaran elections failed to do so.

Musa’s legal team also included Jeyan Marimuttu, Reduan Aklee and Azhier Arisin.

Lawyers Zaleha Yusuf Pan and Majnah Abdillah represented Asmara and Irwanshah while Abdul Fikry Jaafar Abdullah represented both the returning officer and the EC.