PKR members head to the polls as party election kicks off

KUALA LUMPUR: The PKR election kicked off today, with members in Kedah and Penang heading to the polls as early as 9am.

The focus is on the battle for the deputy presidency, as Anwar Ibrahim won the president’s post uncontested on Aug 5.

Gombak MP and Economic Affairs Minister Mohamed Azmin Ali is vying for the position against former Pandan MP Rafizi Ramli.

PKR members will also elect the vice-presidents, Youth chief, Wanita chief and members of the central leadership council.

Representatives at the divisional level will also be chosen, namely the chief, deputy chief, vice-chiefs and 15 divisional committee members, as well as the divisional Youth chief, Youth deputy chief, Youth vice-chiefs and 15 Youth committee members.

Members will also elect the divisional Wanita chief, Wanita deputy chief, Wanita vice-chiefs and seven Wanita committee members.

This marks the first time that electronic voting or e-voting will be used in the party election.

A total of 800,000 PKR members around the country are eligible to vote.

The election in Perlis and Perak will take place on Sept 23; Melaka, Sept 29; Johor, Sept 30; Kelantan and Terengganu, Oct 5; Pahang, Oct 6; Federal Territories, Oct 7; Selangor, Oct 13, 14 and 21; Negeri Sembilan, Oct 20; Sarawak, Oct 20 and 21 and Sabah, Oct 27 and 28.