Tapah MP Saravanan goes for MIC No 2 post again

Tapah MP M Saravanan believes that his 30 years’ of service to the party will ensure his victory. (Bernama pic)

KUALA LUMPUR: The MIC elections on Oct 20 will see a straight fight for the post of deputy president between Tapah MP M Saravanan and former Perak MIC chairman M Ramasamy.

MIC elections committee chairman G Rajoo said the two candidates submitted their papers during nominations at the party headquarters today.

Rajoo said 10 candidates are vying for the three posts of vice-president, including incumbent T Mohan and former MIC Youth chief C Sivaraajh.

He also announced that 44 candidates, including former deputy education minister P Kamalanathan, are contesting the 21 posts in the central working committee (CWC).

Saravanan believed his 30 years’ of service to the party would help him secure victory.

He contested the post of deputy president in 2015 but lost by 17 votes to current deputy president SK Devamany.

Ramasamy, on the other hand, said he would commit himself to serve the party and the community if elected deputy president.

SA Vigneswaran, who had won the post of MIC president uncontested in July, endorsed Saravanan for deputy president, saying he was a “MIC strongman” committed to the party and was also an MP.

“Nevertheless, it cannot be denied that his (Saravanan’s) challenger Tan Sri Ramasamy is also an important leader as he is a well-known businessman,” he said at the close of nominations.

Vigneswaran said only the delegates could decide who the eventual winners of the elections would be and added that MIC remained relevant despite being an opposition party.

Former MIC president S Samy Vellu was also present during the nominations.