9 divisions kick off Selangor PKR polls

The PKR election in Selangor will be held on three separate days as there are over 250,000 members in the state.

SHAH ALAM: The PKR election in Selangor begins today with members of the first nine of its 22 divisions casting their votes.

The nine divisions going to the polls from 9am to 5pm today are Sabak Bernam, Sungai Besar, Hulu Selangor, Serdang, Kelana Jaya, Subang, Kapar, Kota Raja and Sepang, involving over 108,000 members.

The polling for the remaining 13 divisions, namely Puchong, Gombak, Petaling Jaya (PJ) Utara; PJ Selatan, Kuala Langat, Klang and Selayang will be on Oct 21, while Tanjong Karang, Kuala Selangor, Ampang, Pandan, Shah Alam and Hulu Langat will vote on Oct 28.

The election in Selangor is being held in three stages as the state has almost 250,000 members.

“Since our staff and equipment are also limited, we have to hold the election over three days to ensure a smooth process,” PKR Central Election Committee chairman Rashid Din told Bernama.

“We also want to advise all members and contestants to maintain discipline and to contest fairly. Win or lose, we are still members of PKR, we are family, so let’s just tolerate and not fight each other,” he said, adding that the results of today’s polls are expected to be known earliest by 7pm.

Apart from having the highest number of membership, the Selangor PKR election has also captured the most attention as it involves the candidates for the deputy president’s post, namely state PKR chairman Mohamed Azmin Ali, who is also the former Selangor menteri besar, and PKR vice-president Rafizi Ramli, the former Pandan MP.

Although Selangor is said to be Azmin’s stronghold, PKR Youth assistant secretary Syed Badli Shah Syed Osman was reported as saying that all 22 divisions in Selangor have pledged their support for Rafizi.

Rafizi had earlier won in Kelantan, Terengganu, Pahang and the Federal Territories, while Azmin won in Penang and Johor.