Awards issue: Melaka DAP tells party leaders to inform Agong, state rulers

Melaka DAP chairman Tey Kok Kiew.

PETALING JAYA: Melaka DAP has requested the party’s central leadership to inform the Yang di-Pertuan Agong and state rulers of its decision to prohibit elected representatives and councillors from accepting titles and awards while in active political service.

Its chairman, Tey Kok Kiew, said this was to prevent any controversy from arising in the near future.

“Once again, I am appealing to DAP’s central leadership to not only inform members of its stance (on awards and titles), but the Agong, sultans and governors,” the Bandar Hilir assemblyman said in a statement.

Yesterday, the DAP Central Executive Committee (CEC) reiterated that DAP elected representatives and local councillors should not accept titles and awards during their period of active political service.

The party’s national organising secretary, Anthony Loke, said elected representatives and local councillors should only receive titles and awards after retiring from active service.

This came after Melaka and Sabah DAP leaders were awarded state titles, which carries the title “Datuk”.

Recently, two DAP Melaka state assemblymen, Tey and Wong Fort Pin, received the Darjah Mulia Seri Melaka (DMSM) award, which carries the title “Datuk”.

Two Sabah DAP ministers — Stephen Wong and Frankie Poon — and Assistant Minister to the Sabah Chief Minister Jimmy Wong were awarded the Panglima Gemilang Darjah Kinabalu (PGDK), which also carries the title “Datuk”.

Loke also said the CEC was unhappy over not being consulted on the offer of titles and awards.

Tey today said he had referred the matter to Loke as well as DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng and party chairman Tan Kok Wai.

He went on to apologise to the Yang di-Pertua Negeri of Melaka Mohd Khalil Yaakob for the controversy that arose over the awards and titles.