Wee Ka Siong is new MCA president

Incoming MCA president Wee Ka Siong.

KUALA LUMPUR: MCA’s sole representative in Parliament Wee Ka Siong has won the party’s top post, beating two other rivals in an election held at a time the Chinese-based party struggles to adjust to its new role as a federal opposition.

Wee’s closest rival Gan Ping Sieu has conceded defeat. The other candidate who lost is Ngoo Teck Keong.

Results are still being tabulated at press time.

Meanwhile, Perak MCA chairman Mah Hang Soon is almost certain to be the new deputy president after he defeated former Johor executive councillor Tee Siew Kiong.

Apart from the top two posts, four candidates who are likely to occupy the vice-presidential posts are Tan Teik Cheng, Ti Lian Ker, Lim Ban Hong and Yew Teong Look.

Twenty-five candidates with most votes are selected to be part of central committee members. They are:

1. Koh Nai Kwang
2. Leaw Kok Chan
3. Pamela Yong
4. Low Ah Keong
5. Chan Quin Er
6. Teh Chai Aan
7. Chew Kok Woh
8. Kang Meng Fuat
9. Tan Tuan Peng
10. Lee Hong Tee
11. Toh Chin Yaw
12. Ng Chok Sin
13. Lau Chin Kok
14. Daniel Wa Wai How
15. Ong Chong Swen
16. Ng Fook Heng
17. Ooi Eyan Hian
18. Wong Tat Chee
19. Yap Siok Moy
20. Koh Chin Han
21. Chua Thiong Gee
22. Chiew Kai Heng
23. Chin Hong Vui
24. Daniel Ling Sia Chin
25. Tan Ken Ten

Yesterday, Nicole Wong Siaw Ting won the Youth chief post, becoming the first female to helm the wing.

Some 32,000 delegates from 188 divisions voted today in 160 polling stations nationwide.

Incumbent president Liow Tiong Lai previously announced he would not seek re-election following MCA’s worst electoral performance in the May 9 general election.