Upko finally accepts Nabawan rep’s resignation

Nabawan assemblyman Bobbey Suan submitted his resignation letter five months ago.

KOTA KINABALU: Former United Pasok Momogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation (Upko) vice-president and Nabawan assemblyman Bobbey Suan formally left the party today, five months after sending in his resignation letter.

The resignation was accepted by the party’s Supreme Council after a meeting at the party’s headquarters in Penampang today.

Upko president and Deputy Chief Minister Madius Tangau said after the meeting that Suan had resigned all his posts in the party and also quit being a member.

“His letter reached the party’s headquarters in July. We have done all we can to convince him to stay in Upko. I personally pleaded with him to stay but he would not budge from his decision.

“The party’s Supreme Council respects the decision and we have accepted Suan’s resignation. We wish him all the best in his next endeavour,” he said.

Suan is one of six Upko assemblymen who won the state election on May 9. However, unlike the five assemblymen who left to join the Warisan-PH coalition, Suan chose to stay put with the then-BN side.

Tangau has led Upko out of Sabah BN to work together with Warisan and Pakatan Harapan parties. Their defections have allowed Warisan and PH to form a coalition government in Sabah.

Tangau was also appointed deputy chief minister while first-term Upko assemblyman Ewon Benedick was appointed state rural development minister.

After the new political coalition Gabungan Bersatu Sabah (GBS), which consists of Sabah Umno, Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS), Solidariti Tanah Airku (STAR) and Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS), was formed, Suan also showed solidarity with the coalition.

He has been silent about his status within Upko although it has always been assumed that he would leave the party sooner or later.

FMT has tried to contact Suan but he has declined to give any comments.