Anwar, Shafie among 13 MPs yet to declare assets

A screenshot of MACC’s asset declaration website.

PUTRAJAYA: PKR president Anwar Ibrahim, who is also the Port Dickson MP, is among 13 parliamentarians who have yet to declare their assets to the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC).

Based on MACC’s asset declaration website,, Anwar, had not declared his monthly earnings nor his assets as at 5pm today.

MACC deputy chief commissioner (Prevention) Shamshun Baharin Mohd Jamil at a ceremony in Putrajaya earlier today announced that there were 13 MPs who have yet to declare their assets to the MACC.

Sabah Chief Minister and Semporna MP Mohd Shafie Apdal and Perak Menteri Besar Ahmad Faizal Azumu (Tambun MP) were also among those who have yet to declare their assets.

According to the website, seven PKR MPs have yet to declare their assets.

Apart from Anwar, they are Abdullah Sani Abdul Hamid (Kapar), P Prabakaran (Batu), Dr R Edmund Santhara (Segamat), Awang Husaini Sahari (Putatan), Ali Biju (Saratok) and Dr Michael Teo Yu Keng (Miri).

Besides Faizal, two other PPBM MPs have not declared their assets. They are Dr Noor Azmi Ghazali (Bagan Serai) and Dr Shahruddin Md Salleh (Sri Gading).

As for Parti Warisan Sabah, Shafie and Labuan MP Rozman Isli have not declared their assets.

Meanwhile, Upko president and Tuaran MP Wilfred Madius Tangau has also not declared his assets.

Checks showed that several MPs only declared their monthly earnings but not their assets.

They include Tourism, Arts and Culture Minister Mohamaddin Ketapi (Silam), and ministers in the prime minister’s department P Waytha Moorthy, who is a senator, and Liew Vui Keong (Batu Sapi).

Other MPs include R Sanisvara Nethaji Rayer (Jelutong), Wong Tack (Bentong) and Mordi Bimol (Mas Gading).