We haven’t decided if we’ll leave, say Sabah Umno women

The Sabah Umno Wanita and Puteri wings deny that their leaders and members have decided to leave the party. (Facebook pic)

KOTA KINABALU: Sabah Umno’s Women and Puteri wings say they have yet to decide on their next course of action following the exodus of senior party leaders today.

Sabah Wanita Umno chief Jainab Ahmad Ayid and state Puteri chief Fadilah Sarbi urged members to stay calm as discussions are being held on the matter.

Sabah Wanita Umno chief Jainab Ahmad Ayid.

“Sabah Wanita Umno has yet to decide because our leaders need to explain the matter to committee members at their respective divisions and subsequently to the grassroots.

“The respective Wanita divisions will make their decisions after the discussions are done, and will resign en bloc if needed,” Jainab said in a statement here today.

This comes after former Sabah Umno chief Hajiji Mohd Noor said when announcing the exit of 14 senior state leaders from the party that members from the state’s Women and Puteri wings were expected to follow suit.

Meanwhile, Fadilah said in a separate statement that it was up to the respective divisions of Puteri Umno to decide on the direction they want to take.

Hajiji had earlier said that he had made it clear to all Sabah Umno members that there was no compulsion to join the group that left the party.

He added they were free to make their own decisions but hoped most them would follow suit.

“We are leaving with a heavy heart but with a clear conscience. We sincerely believe breaking free from the political baggage of the past is the correct decision to allow political renewal for the betterment of Sabah,” Hajiji said.

Five MPs and nine state assemblymen left Sabah Umno today after saying Umno was not what it used to be and there was no clear direction from the leadership.

The MPs are Ronald Kiandee (Beluran); Yamani Hafez Musa (Sipitang); Azizah Mohd Dun (Beaufort); Zakaria Edris (Libaran) and Rahim Bakri (Kudat).

The assemblymen are Hajiji Mohd Noor (Sulaman); Masidi Manjun (Karanaan); Japlin Akim (Usukan); Musbah Jameh (Tempasuk); Gulam Haidar Khan (Kawang); Mohd Arifin Arif (Membakut); Isnin Aliasnih (Klias); Matbali Musah (Lumadan) and Nizam Titingan (Apas).